Browse Our Collection of Laboratory Diamonds – A Beautiful Affordable Alternative to Traditional

The Thomas James & Bechtold Jewelry Logo. The symbol contains an octagonal border with a gemstone outline enclosed. The text reads "Thomas James & Bechtold Jewelry".
The Thomas James & Bechtold Jewelry Logo. The symbol contains an octagonal border with a gemstone outline enclosed.

About Us

Thomas and Kasia, are the husband and wife team who own and operate Thomas James and Bechtold Jewelry, the oldest jewelry store in Sioux Falls and South Dakota. Established in 1902 by the Bechtold family, the company has been providing quality jewelry services to customers for over a century.

Thomas began his career in the wholesale jewelry industry, working with his father Larry at F&H Private Jewelers, a company founded in 1950. Under his father’s guidance, Thomas learned the art of jewelry design, repair, and custom creation, eventually becoming a master jeweler and hand engraver himself. In 1995, after his father’s passing, Thomas and his brother took over the family business.

In 2014, Thomas received Ecclesiastical Approbation to work on Sacred objects and relics, expanding his expertise in that field. In 2017, Thomas parted ways with his brother and continued to focus on wholesale, manufacturing, and design work while also entering the world of retail jewelry at Bechtold Jewelry. To honor the legacy of the Bechtold family, Thomas added his name to the business, now known as Thomas James and Bechtold Jewelry, maintaining the family-friendly atmosphere that has been a hallmark of the company for decades.

Kasia, originally from Poland, moved to the U.S. in 1990 during a time of political unrest and communism in her home country. Kasia, graduated from the University of Łódz in Poland with a degree in Economics, as well as floral design and as a seamstress. She traveled frequently to Poland, building relationships with local artisans who create the unique products she brings to the U.S. market, including exclusive crystal designs, pottery, porcelain and Christmas ornaments. Together, Thomas and Kasia have four children and four grandchildren, ( And counting).

As Traditional Catholic Christians, Thomas and Kasia have dedicated their business to the Blessed Virgin Mary under the title of Our Lady of Częstochowa, her image proudly displayed in the store. The couple is committed to continuing the rich legacy of their family business while offering quality jewelry services, custom designs and unique products to their customers.

Our History

SINCE 1902

In 1902, J.H. Bechtold moved from Duluth, Minnesota to Sioux Falls, South Dakota to become manager of Keating Jewelry. He later changed the name to Bechtold’s Jewelry. J.H. Bechtold also had a degree in Optometry, which became another added service from the store.

In the early 30’s, “Bud” Bechtold joined his father in the store. The business survived the Dust Bowl, a Depression, and World War II. In 1947, the store moved to its present location. This photo was taken during the Grand Opening of the new store. Bud retired in 1997.

Today, Bechtold’s Jewelry continues the century tradition of quality jewelry and exceptional service.

We are a fourth generation family run store that has been serving the Sioux Falls Jewelry Store needs since 1902.

Today, Thomas James & Bechtold jewelry is run by Thomas and Kasia, backed by a trusted team professionals dedicated to continuing the TJB legacy, and perfecting their art.

Shop our collection and get the full tour of our shop and see what over a century of experience and passion for our art has created over the years. Find the perfect piece to pass on to your own generations to come.

The Tradition Continues

Our Cause

The liturgical arts are alive and well at the Carmel in Alexandria, South Dakota. Each year Our Lord leads various Catholic women here on the road to discernment, while others perhaps stumble upon it while on a road trip to see nearby Mt. Rushmore, a national memorial in the Black Hills region of South Dakota. The Carmel is rightly hidden, a cloistered community known as the Monastery Of Our Mother Of Mercy And Saint Joseph. This quiet monastic gem was established in 1997 and heaven has blessed it with vocations.

Today the community is filled with a dozen sisters who are young and enthusiastic followers of the Carmelite tradition. Professed members are vested in the traditional habit and they are ‘discalced’ (meaning, without shoes). The enclosure was built in the 1990’s and includes a small chapel and gift shop open to the public.

Since July of last year the daily convent liturgies have been offered in the EF (usus antiquior). Why is this so important? In short, because it is the tradition of the Western Church and it is deeply rooted in Catholic identity and the Carmelite monastic tradition and spirituality.

Further, whenever the Mass and Office are sung together by a community in Latin, there is an optimal musical status. Latin has a superiority on account of its vocal richness and melodic flow and rhythmic fullness. Latin is better suited than English in the area of musical meter, prosody, declamation, idiomatic musical expressions, sung sentence structure, and tonic accent.

The Church in her wisdom sees immense value in Latin. The Vatican Council stated in no uncertain terms (Constitution on the Sacred Liturgy, Article 36): “The use of the Latin language is to be preserved in the Latin rites.” In contrast to various misleading translations of this injunction, it must be observed that the official text of the document employs the subjunctive ‘servetur’ and therefore expresses a command and not merely a recommendation.

The Result

Vince and Pat DeBates
Rob Everist
Dan & Linda Chilson

Holiday Hours

Due to the holiday we will be closed the week of July 1st to July 8th to spend time with our families and allow the community to celebrate.

We will be open our standard hours starting on July 9th.
Take care, and be safe!